Nature Made Flaxseed Oil 1400 mg Softgels Review 2026: Review
Checks out. — Legitimate
-
"700mg ALA is 44% of daily value"
Math checks out: 700mg is close to 44% of the 1.6g/day reference used for men.
-
"Priced fairly for a commodity oil supplement"
At $0.145 per softgel, this is close to generic-brand flaxseed oil pricing, not a big markup.
-
"Flaxseed oil supports heart health"
ALA omega-3s show modest cardiovascular benefits in population studies, weaker than fish oil's EPA/DHA evidence.
Examine.com ALA overview -
"#1 Pharmacist Recommended Brand"
This comes from a brand-commissioned survey, not a test of product effectiveness.
Internal: footnote disclosure on page
Consumer advice
If you want a plant-based omega-3, this product is dosed honestly and doesn't oversell itself — but it's listed as discontinued, so you can't reliably buy it here anyway. Look for any generic flaxseed oil softgel providing roughly 600-700mg ALA per serving; the ingredient is a commodity, so brand name doesn't add benefit. If your main goal is heart health, note that fish oil (EPA/DHA) has stronger clinical support than flaxseed oil (ALA) — talk to your doctor about which fits your needs, especially if you take blood thinners like warfarin.
Claims vs Evidence
MODEST1 of 3 claims supported by evidence. These grades score the marketing, not the product — a claim only counts as supported when the label discloses a dose that matches the studies behind it, so blends that hide doses cap at “partial” no matter how good the formula is.
"Helps support a healthy heart"
Partial
ALA omega-3s linked to heart health, weaker evidence than EPA/DHA fish oil
Based on: Flaxseed Oil (ALA Omega-3)
Source: Examine.com ALA/flaxseed oil overview
"Provides 700mg ALA Omega-3 per serving (44% of daily value)"
Supported
Label math checks out against 1.6g/day IOM reference intake
Based on: Alpha Linolenic Acid
Source: Internal: label vs IOM daily value math
"#1 Pharmacist Recommended Flaxseed Oil Brand"
Stretch
Based on a survey, not a clinical or efficacy claim
Source: Internal: footnote disclosure on page
1 supported · 1 partial · 1 stretch
Signals
- Shows actual ingredient doses
Ingredients
Based on peer-reviewed research from PubMed and Examine.com
Why the chain breaks for this product
Most ingredients below have real research behind them. The problem isn't the ingredients — it's the doses. 10 of 28 are underdosed compared to the clinical studies, or not disclosed at all, so the product can claim the benefits without delivering the chain that gets you there.
Flaxseed Oil (Linum usitatissimum)
Whole food rich in omega-3s and fiber. Modest evidence for blood sugar, cholesterol, and migraine relief.
Research-backed dose: 16–30 g/day based on clinical trials
In this product: 1400 mg
Underdosed: even at the label's max 1 serving/day, it falls short of the research-backed dose.
Alpha Linolenic Acid (Omega-3)
Essential fats with solid evidence for heart health, dry eye, and inflammation. Benefits depend on type and dose.
Research-backed dose: 0.5–2 g/day depending on health goal; no single universal dose established
In this product: 10 mg
Underdosed: even at the label's max 1 serving/day, it falls short of the research-backed dose.
Linoleic Acid (Omega-6)
Essential dietary fats found in vegetable oils. Balance with omega-3s matters more than omega-6 intake alone.
Research-backed dose: not specifically dosed for a health claim here
In this product: 154 mg
Oleic Acid (Omega-9)
Non-essential fatty acid found in olive oil. May support heart health and reduce inflammation, but evidence is mostly indirect.
Research-backed dose: not specifically dosed for a health claim here
In this product: 168 mg
Vitamin A (as Beta Carotene)
Vitamin A compound. Supports skin health topically and immune function; dosing matters—more isn't better.
In this product: 750 mcg
Vitamin C (as Ascorbic Acid)
Essential vitamin with well-known immune and antioxidant roles; topical form supports collagen and skin tone.
Research-backed dose: 65-2000 mg/day oral (RDA: 75-90 mg/day adults); 10-20% concentration topical serums
In this product: 60 mg
Underdosed: even at the label's max 1 serving/day, it falls short of the research-backed dose.
Vitamin D3 (as Cholecalciferol)
Essential fat-soluble vitamin. Supports bone health, immune function, and may improve exercise tolerance in deficient individuals.
Research-backed dose: 400–80,000 IU daily depending on condition and deficiency status
In this product: 25 mcg (1000 IU)
Vitamin E (as dl-Alpha Tocopheryl Acetate)
Gentle skin acid that reduces redness, fights acne, and moisturizes with less irritation than glycolic acid.
In this product: 22.5 mg
Fat-soluble vitamin essential for blood clotting and bone health. Well-established nutritional role.
Research-backed dose: 90-120 mcg/day (Adequate Intake); higher doses used clinically for specific conditions
In this product: 40 mcg
Underdosed: even at the label's max 1 serving/day, it falls short of the research-backed dose.
Thiamin (as Thiamine Mononitrate)
Essential B vitamin. Critical for nerve and brain function. Deficiency causes serious neurological emergencies.
In this product: 1.5 mg
B vitamin essential for energy metabolism. Most evidence in provided studies is for eye procedures, not oral supplements.
In this product: 1.7 mg
Niacin (as Niacinamide)
Essential B vitamin that supports metabolism and immunity. Deficiency causes pellagra. Evidence for broader benefits is mixed.
In this product: 20 mg
Vitamin B6 (as Pyridoxine Hydrochloride)
Essential B vitamin supporting mood, nerve health, and metabolism. First-line for pregnancy nausea.
Research-backed dose: 8-100 mg daily depending on condition; do not exceed 21 mg/day long-term without medical supervision
In this product: 2 mg
Underdosed: even at the label's max 1 serving/day, it falls short of the research-backed dose.
Essential B vitamin critical for cell division, DNA synthesis, and pregnancy health.
Research-backed dose: 400-1000 mcg DFE daily (context-dependent; higher doses used in specific clinical populations)
In this product: 665 mcg DFE (400 mcg Folic Acid)
Effective at 1 serving/day, as the label directs.
Vitamin B12 (as Cyanocobalamin)
Essential B vitamin that treats deficiency-related anemia and supports nerve and metabolic health.
In this product: 6 mcg
B vitamin essential for metabolism. Little clinical proof it grows hair or nails in healthy people.
In this product: 30 mcg
Calcium (as Calcium Carbonate)
Essential mineral for bones and teeth. Widely under-consumed, especially in athletes and dancers.
In this product: 100 mg
Iron (as Ferrous Fumarate)
Essential dietary fats found in vegetable oils. Balance with omega-3s matters more than omega-6 intake alone.
In this product: 18 mg
Iodine (as Potassium Iodide)
Essential mineral. Prevents deficiency, but supplement overuse risks exceeding safe upper limits.
In this product: 150 mcg
Magnesium (as Magnesium Oxide)
Essential mineral with roles in mood, nerve function, and heart health. Evidence is mixed depending on the condition.
Research-backed dose: 250-350 mg/day based on study doses
In this product: 40 mg
Underdosed: even at the label's max 1 serving/day, it falls short of the research-backed dose.
Zinc (as Zinc Oxide)
Essential mineral with clinical support for gut health, diarrhea treatment, and immune function.
Research-backed dose: 10-20 mg/day based on study doses
In this product: 15 mg
Effective at 1 serving/day, as the label directs.
Selenium (as Selenium Yeast)
Potent antioxidant carotenoid. Early evidence suggests it reduces oxidative stress and inflammation.
Research-backed dose: 8-20 mg daily based on study doses
In this product: 20 mcg
Underdosed: even at the label's max 1 serving/day, it falls short of the research-backed dose.
Copper (as Cupric Oxide)
Essential trace mineral, but copper oxide form is poorly absorbed and rarely effective in supplements.
Research-backed dose: 0.9 mg daily (RDA for adults); upper limit 10 mg/day
In this product: 2 mg
Effective at 1 serving/day, as the label directs.
Manganese (as Manganese Sulfate)
Essential trace mineral that supports bone health, metabolism, and antioxidant defense.
Research-backed dose: 1.8–2.3 mg daily (Adequate Intake per age/sex; upper tolerable limit 11 mg/day for adults)
In this product: 4 mg
Effective at 1 serving/day, as the label directs.
Essential trace mineral. May support blood sugar regulation, but evidence is limited and inconsistent.
Research-backed dose: 200-1000 mcg daily (general knowledge; no study data provided)
In this product: 120 mcg
Underdosed: even at the label's max 1 serving/day, it falls short of the research-backed dose.
Molybdenum (as Sodium Molybdate)
Essential trace mineral. Limited human evidence for supplementation benefits beyond basic nutritional needs.
In this product: 45 mcg
Flaxseed Oil (ALA Omega-3)
Whole food rich in omega-3s and fiber. Modest evidence for blood sugar, cholesterol, and migraine relief.
Research-backed dose: 16–30 g/day based on clinical trials
In this product: Dose not disclosed
Alpha Linolenic Acid
Herbal extract with antibacterial and antioxidant properties. Most human evidence is limited or mixed.
Price & Value
FairNature Made Flaxseed Oil 1400 mg Softgels
$14.49 (one-time, 100ct)
Generic/store-brand flaxseed oil softgels (e.g., NOW Foods, Spring Valley)
$8-12 for 100-200 softgels
What you're actually paying for
This is a multi-ingredient blend at $0.145/serving a serving. Comparable options: Any generic or store-brand flaxseed oil softgel (NOW Foods, Spring Valley, etc.).
Worth paying for
- Helps support a healthy heart
- Provides 700mg ALA Omega-3 per serving (44% of daily value)
What's marketing
- #1 Pharmacist Recommended Flaxseed Oil Brand
Research sources: PubMed · Examine.com
Analyzed product: https://naturemade.com/products/nature-made-flaxseed-oil-1-400-mg-softgels
Analysis generated: 2026-09-23 · Engine v1.0.0
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Nature Made Flaxseed Oil 1400 mg Softgels worth the money?
Nature Made Flaxseed Oil 1400 mg Softgels at $14.49 (one-time, 100ct) appears to offer reasonable value based on its ingredient quality and dosing. This is a straightforward flaxseed oil softgel with full dose transparency and modest, appropriately hedged claims. The evidence for ALA omega-3s supporting heart health is real but moderate — weaker than the evidence for fish oil's EPA/DHA — and the product doesn't overpromise beyond that. Pricing is fair for a commodity ingredient, though store-bra
Is Nature Made Flaxseed Oil 1400 mg Softgels a scam?
Nature Made Flaxseed Oil 1400 mg Softgels does not appear to be a scam. Our analysis found the claims are generally supported by the ingredients.
What are the ingredients in Nature Made Flaxseed Oil 1400 mg Softgels?
Nature Made Flaxseed Oil 1400 mg Softgels contains 28 ingredients including Flaxseed Oil (Linum usitatissimum), Alpha Linolenic Acid (Omega-3), Linoleic Acid (Omega-6), Oleic Acid (Omega-9), Vitamin A (as Beta Carotene).
Does Nature Made Flaxseed Oil 1400 mg Softgels actually work?
Yes, Nature Made Flaxseed Oil 1400 mg Softgels can work for its intended purpose. 1 of 3 claims are fully supported. 1 are partially supported.
Are there cheaper alternatives to Nature Made Flaxseed Oil 1400 mg Softgels?
Yes, Generic/store-brand flaxseed oil softgels (e.g., NOW Foods, Spring Valley) at $8-12 for 100-200 softgels offers similar benefits at a better price point. Many key ingredients in Nature Made Flaxseed Oil 1400 mg Softgels are available separately for less.