Transparent Labs Creatine HMB Review 2026: Worth the Price?
Checks out. — Mostly Legit
-
"Creatine monohydrate enhances performance and lean muscle"
Creatine is the most-studied legal supplement, with the ISSN calling it the top ergogenic aid backed by decades of research.
International Society of Sports Nutrition Position Stand, 2017 -
"Third-party tested for purity and label accuracy"
Transparent Labs publishes actual Certificate of Analysis PDFs for heavy metals and ingredient verification, which most competitors don't do.
-
"BioPerine improves absorption of the formula"
Creatine absorbs nearly completely on its own, so piperine's absorption boost mainly matters for other compounds, not creatine itself.
Internal: creatine bioavailability literature -
"Creatine + HMB formula is clinically dosed for muscle growth"
Creatine is a full 5g clinical dose, but HMB is 1.5g per serving - half the 3g/day amount used in most HMB studies.
Consumer advice
Check the label's serving directions - if it recommends one scoop daily, you're getting a full creatine dose but only half the HMB dose most studies use. Take two scoops (or a separate HMB supplement) if you want the studied 3g/day HMB amount. The third-party lab tests are a genuine plus - actually look at them before buying, since most supplement brands don't offer this. If budget matters more than convenience, plain creatine monohydrate is nearly as effective on its own and costs a fraction of the price; add a standalone HMB product only if you're new to resistance training, since HMB's benefits are smaller for experienced lifters already using creatine.
Claims vs Evidence
MODEST1 of 4 claims supported by evidence. These grades score the marketing, not the product — a claim only counts as supported when the label discloses a dose that matches the studies behind it, so blends that hide doses cap at “partial” no matter how good the formula is.
"Creatine supplements are clinically proven to enhance athletic performance and build lean muscle"
Supported
Most-researched sports supplement; strong evidence for strength and lean mass gains
Based on: Creatine Monohydrate
Source: ISSN Position Stand on Creatine, 2017
"HMB improves recovery and reduces muscle protein breakdown"
Partial
Works well in untrained/older adults; benefit is smaller in trained lifters already using creatine
Based on: myHMB (HMB)
Source: PubMed: Wilson et al meta-analyses on HMB
"BioPerine improves absorption of the formula"
Partial
Piperine boosts absorption of some compounds, but creatine absorption is already near-total without it
Based on: Bioperine Black Pepper Extract
Source: Internal: creatine bioavailability is already ~99% without absorption enhancers
"Vitamin D3 supports muscle mass and recovery"
Stretch
Vitamin D matters if you're deficient; 500 IU is a small maintenance dose, not a muscle-building one
Based on: Vitamin D3
Source: Internal: dose comparison to RDA (600-800 IU)
1 supported · 2 partial · 1 stretch
Signals
- Shows actual ingredient doses
Ingredients
Based on peer-reviewed research from PubMed and Examine.com
Why the chain breaks for this product
Most ingredients below have real research behind them. The problem isn't the ingredients — it's the doses. 3 of 7 are not disclosed on the label, so the product can claim the benefits without delivering the chain that gets you there.
The most researched sports supplement. Reliably boosts strength, power, and recovery. Emerging mental health benefits.
Research-backed dose: 3-5 g/day maintenance; 0.3 g/kg/day loading phase (typically 5-7 days)
In this product: 5,000 mg
myHMB® (β-Hydroxy β-Methylbutyrate)
Leucine metabolite that may support muscle preservation and reduce cortisol during fasting or illness.
Research-backed dose: 3 g daily (based on available study data)
In this product: 1,500 mg
Vitamin D3 (as Cholecalciferol)
Essential fat-soluble vitamin. Supports bone health, immune function, and may improve exercise tolerance in deficient individuals.
Research-backed dose: 400–80,000 IU daily depending on condition and deficiency status
In this product: 12.5 mcg (500 IU)
Bioperine® Black Pepper Fruit Extract
Black pepper extract often used to boost absorption of other supplements. Limited published research available.
Research-backed dose: 5-10 mg (typical studied range)
In this product: 5 mg
myHMB (HMB)
Leucine metabolite that may support muscle preservation and reduce cortisol during fasting or illness.
Research-backed dose: 3 g daily (based on available study data)
In this product: Dose not disclosed
Bioperine Black Pepper Extract
Black pepper extract often used to boost absorption of other supplements. Limited published research available.
Vitamin D3
Essential fat-soluble vitamin. Supports bone health, immune function, and may improve exercise tolerance in deficient individuals.
Research-backed dose: 400–80,000 IU daily depending on condition and deficiency status
In this product: Dose not disclosed
Price & Value
ModerateTransparent Labs Creatine HMB
$49.99 (or $44.99 subscribed)
Plain creatine monohydrate (e.g., Optimum Nutrition Micronized Creatine) + separate HMB supplement
~$15-20 for creatine (60 servings) + $10-15 for HMB (30 servings)
What you're actually paying for
This is a multi-ingredient blend at $1.67 (one-time) / $1.50 (subscription) a serving. Comparable options: Plain creatine monohydrate powder plus a separate HMB supplement.
Worth paying for
- BioPerine improves absorption of the formula
What's marketing
- Vitamin D3 supports muscle mass and recovery
- Creatine + HMB formula is clinically dosed for muscle growth
Research sources: PubMed · Examine.com
Analyzed product: https://transparentlabs.com/products/creatine-hmb
Analysis generated: 2026-09-06 · Engine v1.0.0
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Transparent Labs Creatine HMB worth the money?
Transparent Labs Creatine HMB at $49.99 (or $44.99 subscribed) appears to offer reasonable value based on its ingredient quality and dosing. This is a straightforward creatine + HMB powder from Transparent Labs, with full label transparency and no hidden proprietary blends. Creatine is dosed at the clinical standard (5g), while HMB (1.5g) sits below the typical 3g/day studied amount unless you're taking two servings. Pricing is reasonable for a third-party-tested branded product, though you coul
Is Transparent Labs Creatine HMB a scam?
Transparent Labs Creatine HMB does not appear to be a scam. Our analysis found the claims are generally supported by the ingredients.
What are the ingredients in Transparent Labs Creatine HMB?
Transparent Labs Creatine HMB contains 7 ingredients including Creatine Monohydrate, myHMB® (β-Hydroxy β-Methylbutyrate), Vitamin D3 (as Cholecalciferol), Bioperine® Black Pepper Fruit Extract, myHMB (HMB).
Does Transparent Labs Creatine HMB actually work?
Yes, Transparent Labs Creatine HMB can work for its intended purpose. 1 of 4 claims are fully supported. 2 are partially supported.
Are there cheaper alternatives to Transparent Labs Creatine HMB?
Yes, Plain creatine monohydrate (e.g., Optimum Nutrition Micronized Creatine) + separate HMB supplement at ~$15-20 for creatine (60 servings) + $10-15 for HMB (30 servings) offers similar benefits at a better price point. Many key ingredients in Transparent Labs Creatine HMB are available separately for less.