WOWMD® Ginkgo Biloba Review 2026: Legit or Overhyped?
Read before you buy. — Overhyped
-
"Ginkgo/ginseng combo enhances memory"
One small 2001 study in healthy middle-aged adults found a memory boost, but it has not been widely replicated at this scale.
PubMed: Scholey & Kennedy 2001 -
"Ginkgo biloba supports memory and focus in healthy adults"
The largest trial, the GEM study with 3,000+ seniors, found ginkgo did not prevent cognitive decline.
PubMed: DeKosky et al., GEM Study 2008 -
"600mg standardized extract per serving is the active dose"
The label splits 600mg across three separate ingredients (ginkgo extract, ginkgo powder, ginseng extract) without individual amounts.
-
"Price reflects quality herbal ingredients"
Generic ginkgo and ginseng capsules with similar standardization sell for $8-12, versus roughly $43-54 here.
Consumer advice
If you want to try ginkgo or ginseng, look for standardized extracts (ginkgo: 24% flavone glycosides/6% terpene lactones; ginseng: 4-7% ginsenosides) with the exact milligram amount printed per ingredient, not lumped into a formula total. Generic versions of both are widely available for $8-15 a bottle. Don't expect dramatic memory or focus changes - the strongest trial to date on ginkgo found no meaningful effect in adults, so treat this as a low-stakes, low-cost experiment rather than a cognitive fix. Skip the 6-bottle subscription until you've confirmed it does anything for you, and note the money-back guarantee doesn't cover bundles.
Claims vs Evidence
MODEST0 of 3 claims supported by evidence. These grades score the marketing, not the product — a claim only counts as supported when the label discloses a dose that matches the studies behind it, so blends that hide doses cap at “partial” no matter how good the formula is.
"Supports focus, normal memory, and mental clarity in healthy adults"
Partial
Some trials show modest cognitive effects in healthy adults, others show none
Based on: Ginkgo Extract, Ginkgo Powder, Red Asian Ginseng Extract
"Ginkgo biloba/Panax ginseng combination enhances memory in healthy middle-aged adults"
Partial
One small 2001 trial found benefit; not widely replicated at scale
Based on: Ginkgo Extract, Red Asian Ginseng Extract
Source: PubMed: Scholey & Kennedy 2001
"Supports mental clarity as part of daily routine"
Stretch
Vague benefit, hard to measure or disprove
Based on: Ginkgo Extract
Source: Internal: claim specificity review
2 partial · 1 stretch
Ingredients
Based on peer-reviewed research from PubMed and Examine.com
Why the chain breaks for this product
Most ingredients below have real research behind them. The problem isn't the ingredients — it's the doses. 3 of 6 are not disclosed on the label, so the product can claim the benefits without delivering the chain that gets you there.
Ginkgo Extract (Ginkgo biloba)
Herbal extract traditionally used for memory and circulation. Evidence is mixed and limited.
Research-backed dose: 120-240 mg daily (standardized extract; general knowledge, not from provided studies)
In this product: 120 mg
Ginkgo Powder (Ginkgo biloba)
Herbal extract from ginkgo trees. Best evidence for supporting cognition in dementia and brain recovery after stroke.
Research-backed dose: 240 mg/day (standardized extract EGb 761) based on dementia studies
In this product: 600 mg
Red Asian Ginseng Extract (Panax)
Traditional adaptogen with clinical evidence for reducing fatigue and supporting heart and gut health.
Research-backed dose: 250 mg/day (fatigue); higher doses used in cardiac studies
In this product: 700 mg
Ginkgo Extract
Herbal extract traditionally used for memory and circulation. Evidence is mixed and limited.
Research-backed dose: 120-240 mg daily (standardized extract; general knowledge, not from provided studies)
In this product: Dose not disclosed
Ginkgo Powder
Red Asian Ginseng Extract
Traditional adaptogen with clinical evidence for reducing fatigue and supporting heart and gut health.
Research-backed dose: 250 mg/day (fatigue); higher doses used in cardiac studies
In this product: Dose not disclosed
Price & Value
Extreme MarkupWOWMD® Ginkgo Biloba
$54.05 (list) / $43.24 (subscription, 20% off)
Nature's Bounty or NOW Foods Ginkgo Biloba 120mg + separate Panax Ginseng capsule
$8-12 for 60-100 capsules
Research sources: PubMed · Examine.com
Analyzed product: https://wowmd.com/products/ginkgo-biloba
Analysis generated: 2026-09-11 · Engine v1.0.0
Frequently Asked Questions
Is WOWMD® Ginkgo Biloba worth the money?
WOWMD® Ginkgo Biloba at $54.05 (list) / $43.24 (subscription, 20% off) appears to offer reasonable value based on its ingredient quality and dosing. This is a ginkgo biloba/ginseng capsule using modest, legally careful language ("supports focus and normal memory") rather than miracle claims, which is a genuine positive. But the science behind ginkgo for healthy adults is mixed at best - the largest trial found no benefit - and the 600mg "total" is split across three ingredients with no individua
Is WOWMD® Ginkgo Biloba a scam?
WOWMD® Ginkgo Biloba does not appear to be a scam. Our analysis found the claims are generally supported by the ingredients.
What are the ingredients in WOWMD® Ginkgo Biloba?
WOWMD® Ginkgo Biloba contains 6 ingredients including Ginkgo Extract (Ginkgo biloba), Ginkgo Powder (Ginkgo biloba), Red Asian Ginseng Extract (Panax), Ginkgo Extract, Ginkgo Powder.
Does WOWMD® Ginkgo Biloba actually work?
Yes, WOWMD® Ginkgo Biloba can work for its intended purpose. 0 of 3 claims are fully supported. 2 are partially supported.
Are there cheaper alternatives to WOWMD® Ginkgo Biloba?
Yes, Nature's Bounty or NOW Foods Ginkgo Biloba 120mg + separate Panax Ginseng capsule at $8-12 for 60-100 capsules offers similar benefits at a better price point. Many key ingredients in WOWMD® Ginkgo Biloba are available separately for less.