HypeCheck
Last verified: 8 days ago

AG1 (Athletic Greens) Review 2026: Worth the Price?

Read before you buy. — Overhyped

  • "NSF Certified for Sport ensures quality and safety"

    This is a real, independently verified third-party certification confirming the product is tested for banned substances and label accuracy.

    NSF Certified for Sport program
  • "Clinically shown to enrich gut microbiome with 10x more healthy bacteria"

    This comes from a small company-funded crossover trial of 40 people over 4 weeks, not independent replication.

  • "Vitamin B12 at 16,667% Daily Value supports energy"

    Standard B12 doses of 500-1000mcg already correct deficiency; 400mcg here is fine but the huge percentage is a marketing number, not proof of extra benefit.

    Examine.com Vitamin B12 summary
  • "75+ ingredients deliver superfood and adaptogen benefits"

    Ashwagandha, rhodiola, and milk thistle sit in a 7.5g blend split 20 ways — doses are almost certainly far below the amounts used in clinical trials.

Consumer advice

If your goal is basic nutrient insurance, a store-brand multivitamin plus a probiotic and a fiber/greens supplement will cover most of what AG1 offers for a fraction of the price. AG1's clinical studies are real but small, mostly single-arm or short crossover trials, and heavily funded/run by the company itself — treat the "70% increase in folate" and "10x gut bacteria" stats as preliminary, not definitive. If you value convenience (one scoop vs. five bottles) and don't mind the price, it's a legitimate, well-tested product — just don't expect it to outperform its individual components, and don't expect the "superfood/adaptogen" ingredients dosed in milligrams within a 7.5g blend to do much of anything on their own.

Share: Post Share

Claims vs Evidence

MODERATE

0 of 5 claims supported by evidence. These grades score the marketing, not the product — a claim only counts as supported when the label discloses a dose that matches the studies behind it, so blends that hide doses cap at “partial” no matter how good the formula is.

"Clinically shown to close common nutrient gaps" Partial

Small company-run trials show nutrient blood levels rise, mostly for pre-deficient people

Based on: Multivitamin, Vitamin B12, Folate, Vitamin C

Source: Internal: label vs. cited AG1 company studies (n=16-105)

"Clinically shown to enrich the gut microbiome (10x increase in healthy bacteria)" Stretch

Based on small, short company-funded crossover trials, not independent replication

Based on: Probiotic Cultures, Inulin, Prebiotic Fiber

Source: Internal: cited AG1 studies 1-4 (own trials)

"Immune defense" Partial

Vitamins support normal immune function but won't boost immunity above normal

Based on: Vitamin C, Vitamin A, Zinc Citrate, Echinacea-like blend

Source: Examine.com Vitamin C summary

"Regular digestion & less bloating" Partial

2g fiber and some probiotics may help, but doses are modest per serving

Based on: Prebiotic Fiber, Dietary Fiber, Probiotic Cultures

Source: Internal: dose math (2g fiber vs 16-32g clinical dose)

"Healthy brain & mood (adaptogens like rhodiola, ashwagandha)" Unsupported

These herbs are in a blend with unknown individual doses, too small to verify effect

Based on: Rhodiola, Ashwagandha, Eleuthero

Source: Internal: proprietary blend dose opacity

3 partial · 1 stretch · 1 unsupported

Ingredients

Evidence: strong · moderate · weak · debunked

Based on peer-reviewed research from PubMed and Examine.com

Why the chain breaks for this product

Most ingredients below have real research behind them. The problem isn't the ingredients — it's the doses. 18 of 23 are hidden in proprietary blends or not disclosed on the label, so the product can claim the benefits without delivering the chain that gets you there.

Essential B vitamin that supports nerve health, reduces deficiency-related symptoms, and may protect against chemo nerve damage.

moderate

Research-backed dose: 500–1000 mcg/day based on study doses

In this product: 400mcg (16,667% DV)

Vitamin C (ascorbic acid)

Essential vitamin with well-known immune and antioxidant roles; topical form supports collagen and skin tone.

moderate

Research-backed dose: 65-2000 mg/day oral (RDA: 75-90 mg/day adults); 10-20% concentration topical serums

In this product: 500mg (556% DV)

A zinc salt used mainly in oral care products. Some evidence for gum health; limited data on systemic benefits.

moderate

In this product: 20mg (182% DV)

Gut-feeding fibers that support digestion, reduce inflammation, and may help with muscle and metabolic health.

in blend

Research-backed dose: 5-15 g/day based on study doses

In this product: Dose not disclosed

Ashwagandha root (5:1) extract

Essential fats with solid evidence for heart health, dry eye, and inflammation. Benefits depend on type and dose.

moderate in blend

Research-backed dose: 0.5–2 g/day depending on health goal; no single universal dose established

In this product: Dose not disclosed

Rhodiola root (15:1) extract

Adaptogenic herb shown to reduce stress, fatigue, and anxiety, with some benefits for athletic performance.

in blend

Research-backed dose: 120-1000 mg daily based on study doses

In this product: Dose not disclosed

Milk Thistle Seed (70:1) extract

Plant-based powder traditionally used for liver support. Limited clinical evidence available.

weak in blend

Research-backed dose: 70-200mg silymarin daily based on studies

In this product: Dose not disclosed

Coenzyme Q10 (as ubiquinone)

Antioxidant made by your body. Best evidence for reducing statin-related muscle pain and exercise-induced muscle damage.

moderate

Research-backed dose: 60-600 mg daily based on study doses

In this product: 60mg

Alpha-Lipoic Acid (ALA)

Antioxidant shown to reduce nerve pain, oxidative stress, and inflammation in diabetic conditions.

Research-backed dose: 300–600 mg daily based on study doses

In this product: 100mg

Stevia leaf extract

Natural plant sweetener with some evidence for blood sugar and appetite effects, but human data is limited.

weak

Mineral compound used in toothpastes and drug delivery. Limited evidence for oral supplement benefits.

moderate

Daily multivitamins fill nutrient gaps but don't replace a healthy diet or prevent most chronic diseases.

strong

Essential B vitamin that supports nerve health, reduces deficiency-related symptoms, and may protect against chemo nerve damage.

moderate

Research-backed dose: 500–1000 mcg/day based on study doses

In this product: Dose not disclosed

Essential B vitamin critical for cell division, DNA synthesis, and pregnancy health.

moderate

Research-backed dose: 400-1000 mcg DFE daily (context-dependent; higher doses used in specific clinical populations)

In this product: Dose not disclosed

Essential antioxidant vitamin. Evidence supports cardiovascular, immune, and kidney-protective benefits.

Research-backed dose: 200-2000 mg daily depending on health goal; IV doses up to 6g/day used in clinical settings

In this product: Dose not disclosed

Live bacteria that support gut health, may aid H. pylori treatment, and improve metabolic markers in some adults.

moderate

Prebiotic fiber that feeds beneficial gut bacteria. Limited clinical evidence for broader health claims.

moderate

Research-backed dose: 7.5-8 g daily based on study doses

In this product: Dose not disclosed

Dietary fiber that feeds gut bacteria. Supports microbiome diversity, reduces hunger, and may help with metabolic health.

moderate

Research-backed dose: 16-32 g/day based on clinical trials

In this product: Dose not disclosed

Essential fat-soluble vitamin. Evidence from these studies is mixed and mostly indirect or context-specific.

strong

Echinacea-like blend

Antioxidant amino acid derivative. Animal studies show it reduces oxidative stress and protects cells.

weak

Adaptogenic herb shown to reduce stress, fatigue, and anxiety, with some benefits for athletic performance.

Research-backed dose: 120-1000 mg daily based on study doses

In this product: Dose not disclosed

Traditional herb that may help reduce stress and improve sleep quality in adults.

Research-backed dose: 150-600 mg/day (root extract, standardized to withanolides)

In this product: Dose not disclosed

Adaptogenic herb with very limited clinical evidence; may interact with drug-metabolizing enzymes.

weak

Price & Value

Extreme Markup

AG1 (Athletic Greens)

$79-99/month (subscription) or $99 one-time + $9 shipping

Generic multivitamin + probiotic + greens/fiber powder (e.g., Nature Made multivitamin + Culturelle probiotic + a basic greens powder)

~$25-35/month combined for similar coverage

Subscription: 20-30% off with 30 or 90-day subscription plans; can pause or cancel anytime per site copy; extra 20% off first order with promo code

What you're actually paying for

This is a multi-ingredient blend at $2.30-3.60 depending on plan a serving. Comparable options: A basic multivitamin ($10-15/month) + a probiotic ($10-15/month) + a greens/fiber powder ($15-20/month).

Worth paying for

  • Immune defense
  • Regular digestion & less bloating

What's marketing

  • Clinically shown to enrich the gut microbiome (10x increase in healthy bacteria)
  • 75+ ingredients deliver superfood and adaptogen benefits

Research sources: PubMed · Examine.com

Analyzed product: https://drinkag1.com/products/greens-powder-pouch

Analysis generated: 2026-08-27 · Engine v1.0.0

This verdict has changed
  • 2026-09-01 Mostly Legit → Overhyped Only 3 of 9 conclusively-assessed ingredients are at a therapeutic dose, and the review's own summary says the actives are dosed too low to do much individually.
Check another product
Paste a product page and we will trace its claims the same way.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is AG1 (Athletic Greens) worth the money?

AG1 (Athletic Greens) at $79-99/month (subscription) or $99 one-time + $9 shipping appears to offer reasonable value based on its ingredient quality and dosing. AG1 is a greens powder combined with a multivitamin, probiotics, and a large "phytonutrient" blend at doses too small to individually matter. It's not a scam — ingredients are real, third-party tested, and the marketing mostly uses hedged language — but you're paying a premium price for what a $15 multivitamin plus a $10 probiotic and a

Is AG1 (Athletic Greens) a scam?

AG1 (Athletic Greens) does not appear to be a scam. Our analysis found the claims are generally supported by the ingredients.

What are the ingredients in AG1 (Athletic Greens)?

AG1 (Athletic Greens) contains 23 ingredients including Vitamin B12 (as methylcobalamin), Vitamin C (ascorbic acid), Zinc Citrate, Inulin (chicory root), Ashwagandha root (5:1) extract.

Does AG1 (Athletic Greens) actually work?

Yes, AG1 (Athletic Greens) can work for its intended purpose. 0 of 5 claims are fully supported. 3 are partially supported.

Are there cheaper alternatives to AG1 (Athletic Greens)?

Yes, Generic multivitamin + probiotic + greens/fiber powder (e.g., Nature Made multivitamin + Culturelle probiotic + a basic greens powder) at ~$25-35/month combined for similar coverage offers similar benefits at a better price point. Many key ingredients in AG1 (Athletic Greens) are available separately for less.